Mexico – Chapultepec

on

Let’s rewind to my first stop on my way to Japan – Mexico City!

I only went to see a cousin I had not seen in some fifteen years, hoping for some sun like the pale, sun-starved Londoner I have become and discovered in 4 little days an amazing place, full of culture and life. I definitely hope to go back!

It is no surprise to me that the Mexico posts have been taking forever to publish- I took a stupid amount of pictures when I was there so I will put a couple here, and the complementary album(s) will go on FB.

So, as I was fresh after my landing at 5 am and an hour nap – and thankfully neither jetlagged or tired, my cousin took me for a walk in Chapultepec castle, situated in an immense park.

Map
Map of the park

As well as the castle, there is a zoo (that my cousin told me was free thanks to a rich resident of the city), and several museums (including the Anthropology one, which I sadly did not have the time to see).

The castle itself is located on top of the hill and offers an amazing view of the city. The hill was a sacred place to the Aztecs, and the castle served as many things over the years: military academy, Imperial residence, Presidential home, and observatory. It is now the National Museum of History.

While it is a stupendous building filled with various beautiful objects, the murals were definitely the most impressive thing for me. Also, the view of the city from the balcony was absolutely incredible.

 

IMG_3743
Armed revolutionaries mural – National History Museum

 

The outside area is of course really pretty, with fountains, there are benches on which you can relax with a book taken from the stand. How cool is that?

IMG_3861

Finally, a couple of fun facts: Chapultepec castle was a filming location of the 1996 film William Shakespeare’s Romeo + Juliet, starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes, as the Capulet Castle. It is also allegedly haunted.

Leave a Reply

